Skip to content

T-minus 1 day….

June 6, 2010

So, I realized that the Insanity program is set up so that your first day is on a Monday and is considered your “Fit Test”, so I will be postponing the start date of my program to tomorrow! I figure one more days wait won’t kill me. 😉

So, instead of my first grill session with the infamous Shaun T, I did 30 minutes of random cardio intervals (jumping jacks, sprints, suicides, burpees, etc.) Followed by 15 minutes of ab work. I was nice and shweaty. I love it when you work out first thing in the morning. It always seems to set a healthy and positive tone for the rest of my day.

Normally I would spend the day relaxing around the house and lounging in the sun (exactly how I like to enjoy my weekends if I’m not working) but today I had plans! My friend had asked me if I wanted to check out a church that she has been attending for the past couple years and, since I have been on the lookout for a new church to attend, I happily said yes 🙂 So, I the beautification process began and I emerged looking considerable less sweaty and ready to begin my day!

Before I headed out the door I made a quick Egg-White Burrito….with plenty of ketchup! (Notice the reduced sugar?! Points for me! :p )

Made with 6 egg whites (microwaved for 1:30 minutes!), 1 WW tortilla, and a buttload of kethcup. Simple and delicious!

The Church was an hour away and let me tell ya, it was SO worth the drive! There is something amazing about finding a church that just feels right. I’m excited to go again!

By the time service ended and I made it back home I was starving. I quickly nuked two boca patties and made a ginormous burrito filled with lettuce, avo, and a little hummus. Unfortunately it made it to my mouth faster than I could take a picture of it. But I assure you, it was delicious. I was one happy lady and proceeded to soak up the sun for the next few hours while reading this:

Source

So far I am finding it incredibly interesting. The first part of the book is dedicated to the Hormones that are responsible for weight gain/loss, the destructiveness of a sugar-filled diet, and the organs that are essential to keep healthily functioning. I’m fascinated by all things nutrition and Jackie offers some intriguing information on how to achieve a healthier and more efficient fat-burning body. The section on Sugar really hit home for me. I am a self proclaimed sugar addict. However, seeing the disturbing links to sugar and cancer (among MANY other dieseas/illness) has really made me want to limit my sugar intake. She also has done research that has declared sugar to be just as addictive as a drug. And I believe it! I don’t think the increasing amount of sugar in a typical American diet and the incredible increase in obesity rates in America isn’t related for nothing! The problem is definitely getting more severe. Hopefully by cutting out sugar for the next couple weeks will reduce my cravings for the nasty but oh so delicious stuff. Also, Im hoping that as I get farther into the book she can help me implement some strategies on how to gain some lean muscle mass!

So, back into the sun I go! Hope the weather where you are is just as lovely as it is here!

Question:

Do you think sugar can be just as harmful/destructive as other drugs? (tobacco, meth, pot, etc.?)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

