Skip to content

The 4,000 Calorie Drink

March 9, 2010

Tuesdays are my official Mondays because thats when the school week starts for me. So, needless to say I wake up less than thrilled. But its nothing that a nice hot bowl of oatmeal can’t fix!

Okay- I have a confession. I was up and out of the house by 6:30 am  (school is an hour commute- ew) so I didn’t have time to take a picture so this lovely google-searched one will have to suffice. But the mix consisted of:

  • 1/2 cup oatmeal
  • 1/2 almond milk
  • 1/2 water
  • 1/4 pumpkin
  • 2 T flax

And topped with fresh blueberries and bananas! Delightfully full and ready for chem lab!

Now I am currently blogging from Starbucks on my lunch break (I’m suppose to be doing my chemistry homework but I’m somehow successfully managing to put it on hold). But, back to Starbucks. On the days I do not have school I work part time at my local Starbucks. I love it. The people I work with are delightful and I truly enjoy brightening people’s day by making them something as simple as a cup of coffee.

But- something occurred the other day that I just had to share with the world: I made a 4,000 calorie drink.

I didn’t realize it at first but then I got curious and decided to tally up the calories once I realized the specific ingredient requests of the customer. I. was. appalled.  And very sad. I truly think that people don’t realize what they are putting into their bodies. Granted- Starbucks doesn’t have a plethora of the healthiest options but it is certainly possible to come out with a decent drink without drowning yourself in calories. Its the simple act of becoming more knowledgeable about what you are putting into your bodies (and actually caring about the nutrtional value of that product) that I think America needs to become better at. People forget that liquid calories add up quickly. They’re hardly satisfying, don’t fill you up, and can be insanely packed with sugar for its relatively small amount. Every now and then, sure, go ahead and splurge! But you’d be amazed at the amount of people who come in and order the same sugar-loaded drink every. single. day. Moderation is key.

So- that’s my rant for the day. Be more aware and care about what you are putting into your wonderful bodies! It will thank you and treat you right in the end 🙂

What is your opinion on “liquid calories”? Love ’em, hate ’em?

I personally don’t care for a lot of beverages. Unless its a delicious smoothie (which I need to make more often- Green Monsters anyone?) I’d rather just have water or hot tea. I’ve been known on occasion to heat up a nice mug of lite hot coco when I feel my stomach can handle it. Mmmmm…..

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Megan permalink
    March 9, 2010 11:41 pm

    Oh my God! That’s insane! What exactly was in this drink??? Thats enough to give anyone a heart attack – or two. Personally, I’m a big green monster fan as well! I also drink green tea, lots of water, and occasionally juice – pomegranite or o.j. I’d rather eat my calories though.

    • March 10, 2010 4:37 pm

      It was a grande (not even a venti size!) mocha with added caramel sauce and (drum roll please) manufacturing cream (the stuff we make our whip cream out of!!) was used instead of milk! Madness!

  2. March 10, 2010 5:28 pm

    Did you mean 1,400? Because 14,000 would be enough to gain 4 pounds from the drink alone! THAT would be a monumental feat! But 1,400 is also quite excessive! I drink water, water, tea, water, and water. I just bought a juicer that I should be getting soon, so I hope to add spinach and kale based juices to the mix!

Leave a Reply

